2014 World Cup Brazil

The 2014 Soccer World Cup will be held in Brazil, beginning Thursday June 12th and ending Sunday July 13th. This will be the second time Brazil hosts the Soccer World Cup, having previously done so in 1950. Brazil, as current host nation and five time winner of the Cup, will go into the tournament confident in their ability to seize another victory.

The 2014 World Cup will be held in twelve separate stadiums in twelve cities. This is intended to allow as many citizens of the host nation to attend the matches, and also to spread the expected income the World Cup will generate around the country.

There will be 64 games total, with the Grand Final hosted by Estadio Do Maracana in Rio de Janeiro, where Brazil lost the 1950 World Cup final to Uruguay.

Organised into a system of 8 groups of 4 teams, the initial 48 matches will occur in groups, with each nation playing the other three. Two nations from each group will progress to the Round of 16, which is an elimination round. The final remaining team from the Round of 16 will be declared the winner following the Grand Final. There is also a playoff match for third place.

Despite readiness concerns plaguing the Brazilian Government, all stadiums are expected to be safe and ready by the date of their scheduled matches. Some, less than a month out from kickoff, are not yet completed.

Brazil has made immense investments into preparations for the 2014 World Cup. These expenses include brand new, purpose-built stadiums, redesigning streets and highways to accommodate traffic flow, and preparing the nation for the eyes of the world to be turned on it.

The Brazilian Flag includes the motto "Order and Progress".

The lead up to the 2014 World Cup has been afflicted by multiple protests staged by the Brazilian people. Their belief is that the Soccer World Cup is too expensive to host, and they express anger at alleged government corruption that has led to massive cost blowouts. While the protests are largely non-violent, the events have cast a shadow over the spirit of the World Cup and led some potential visitors to express concern about travelling there. The Brazilian government has made significant investments into its police forces to ensure that safety and security is maintained during the World Cup.

There are 31 national teams travelling to Brazil to compete alongside the Seleção, Brazil’s national squad.

2014 Soccer World Cup Teams

Algeria Argentina Australia Belgium
Bosnia & Herzegovina Brazil Cameroon Chile
Colombia Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia
Ecuador England France Germany
Ghana Greece Honduras Iran
Italy Japan Korea Republic Mexico
Netherlands Nigeria Portugal Russia
Spain Switzerland Uruguay USA