2015 Rugby World Cup

The 2015 Rugby World Cup, hosted by England, will kick off on September 18th, 2015.

England has been selected to host the 2015 Rugby Union World Cup tournament; it will be England’s third year hosting Rugby World Cup matches. England also hosted several games at the 1991 and 1999 tournaments as co-hosts alongside Wales, Scotland, Ireland and France.

2015 Rugby World Cup England.

2015 Rugby World Cup England.

England won the bid following a selection process in 2009. The announcement was made on July 28th, 2009 at the International Rugby Board (IRB) Headquarters. England’s bid defeated others from Italy, Japan and South Africa.

The 2015 Rugby World Cup will form part of Britain’s “Decade of Sport”, a period from 2010 onwards in which Britain will host a number of international events across a variety of sporting disciplines including the Olympics, the Rugby League World Cup, Commonwealth Games, Cricket World Cup, World Artistic Gymnastic Championships, Women’s Hockey World Cup and an array of other major international fixtures.

The 2015 Rugby World Cup will be hosted across 13 stadiums, twelve of which are in England, with one in Wales. The stadiums were intentionally selected under three criteria:

  • To spread the economic and social benefits of Rugby World Cup matches,
  • To ensure that only the greatest capacity stadiums with the best amenities were used, and
  • To showcase as much of England as possible.

There are a total of 20 teams in the 2015 Rugby World Cup, with the final few to be determined by the end of June 2014. Teams will be divided into four Pools labelled A, B, C & D. The top four seeded teams following qualification matches were New Zealand, South Africa, Australia and France. These four teams were divided across the four pools, to ensure that competition is spread out until the knockout stages.

2015 Rugby World Cup Teams

Pool A Pool B Pool C Pool D
Australia South Africa New Zealand France
England Samoa Argentina Ireland
Wales Scotland Tonga Italy
Fiji Japan Georgia Canada
Playoff Winner USA Africa 1 Romania