New Zealand Name Provisional 30-man Squad for 2015 Cricket World Cup

Co-hosts for the event alongside fierce trans-Tasman rivals and current World Number 1 Australia, New Zealand have announced their provisional 30-man squad for the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

A relatively even mix of players from all corners of the country, the Blackcaps’ 30-man squad is most heavily bolstered by the in-form Northern Knights team, who have seen a total of eight of their current playing group make the first cut.

2015 Cricket World Cup!
Back your team with up to $250 in Bonus Bets* from

Frequent world club Twenty20 competitors Auckland Aces are also poised for a strong showing in New Zealand’s final squad of 15 for the 2015 Cricket World Cup with six of their current stars confirmed in the initial list of 30; likewise the most successful domestic cricket team in New Zealand’s history, the Canterbury Wizards.

A further four players from the Otago Volts have been named in the 2015 World Cup provisional New Zealand Squad, while both the Wellington Firebirds and Central Stags are each poised to be represented by three; the latter perhaps most notably via leading batsman Ross Taylor.

Confirmed to host several matches throughout the tournament, New Zealand have been drawn in Pool B alongside the likes of England, Australia and Sri Lanka most notably, with the top four teams of each Group awarded progression through to the Quarter-finals.

Opening their campaign at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval against leading contenders Sri Lanka on February 14th, the Blackcaps play Scotland three days later in Otago, England on February 20th before a face-off with Australia at Eden Park on February 28th.

Leading online bookie is currently offering the best 2015 Cricket World Cup odds, for which New Zealand are available at a particularly generous quote of $8 for success.

New Zealand Cricket World Cup squad of 30

Corey Anderson (Northern Knights)
Hamish Bennett (Canterbury)
Trent Boult (Northern Knights)
Doug Bracewell (Central Stags)
Neil Broom (Canterbury)
Dean Brownlie (Northern Knights)
Colin de Grandhomme (Auckland Aces)
Anton Devcich (Northern Knights)
Grant Elliot (Wellington Firebirds)
Andrew Ellis (Canterbury)
James Franklin (Wellington Firebirds)
Martin Guptill (Auckland Aces)
Matt Henry (Canterbury)
Roneel Hira (Canterbury)
Tom Latham (Canterbury)
Mitchell McClenaghan (Auckland Aces)
Brendon McCullum (Otago Volts)
Nathan McCullum (Otago Volts)
Kyle Mills (Auckland Aces)
Adam Milne (Central Stags)
Colin Munro (Auckland Aces)
James Neesham (Otago Volts)
Rob Nicol (Auckland Aces)
Luke Ronchi (Wellington Firebirds)
Hamish Rutherford (Otago Volts)
Tim Southee (Northern Knights)
Ross Taylor (Central Stags)
Daniel Vettori (Northern Knights)
BJ Watling (Northern Knights)
Kane Williamson (Northern Knights)


Have your say, post a comment.