2014 FIFA World Cup Draw Released

Socceroos coach Ange Postecoglou faces the toughest challenge of his managerial career at the 2014 FIFA World Cup but remains hopeful his team can defy the odds despite drawing a ‘Group Of Death’ on Saturday.

Australia was drawn in Pool B at the 2014 FIFA World Cup Draw that was conducted in Brazil and will take on World Champions Spain, 2010 World Cup runners-up Netherlands and  classy South Americans Chile in the tournament that begins in June next year.

2015 Cricket World Cup!
Back your team with up to $250 in Bonus Bets* from Ladbrokes.com.au

Australia’s chances of winning a game, let alone qualifying for the second round, are very slim but Postecoglou is hopeful that his team will relish the challenge and take advantage of the opportunity to cause one of the biggest boil overs in World Cup history.

“It would be quite an unbelievable achievement or even if we beat one of these three,” Postecoglou said after the draw.

“We haven’t faced many countries of this calibre at a World Cup and beaten them.

“I know we’ve had some wins, but we’re talking about top-notch nations now and we can create some history.

“If I was eligible to play for Australia and saw this draw I would be busting my backside to get selected because what a great opportunity to play in a World Cup in Brazil against the world’s best.

“As a coach, it’s the same thing, it will be a fantastic experience and an opportunity to test ourselves against the very best in the world.

“There’s no doubt we’ve got some major challenges there but exciting opportunities and we can create some headlines ourselves.”

Leading online bookie Ladbrokes has already released betting markets for every game in the first round of the 2014 FIFA World Cup and Australia is at long odds to win any of their games.

Australia are $6 underdogs to beat Chile ($1.53) at Cuiaba on June 3, available at a quote of $8.50 to beat Netherlands ($1.33) in Porto Alegre on June 18 and priced at $11 to beat Spain in their final pool game at Curitiba on June 23.

All eight pools for the 2014 FIFA World Cup can be found below.

2014 FIFA World Cup Pools

Group A

  • Brazil
  • Croatia
  • Mexico
  • Cameroon

Group B

  • Spain
  • Netherlands
  • Chile
  • Australia

Group C

  • Colombia
  • Greece
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Japan

Group D

  • Uruguay
  • Costa Rica
  • England
  • Italy

Group E

  • Switzerland
  • Ecuador
  • France
  • Honduras

Group F

  • Argentina
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Iran
  • Nigeria

Group G

  • Germany
  • Portugal
  • USA
  • Ghana

Group H

  • Belgium
  • Algeria
  • Russia
  • Korea Republic


Have your say, post a comment.